Apple-Cheddar Halfmoon Pies

These are the best things I’ve ever made.  

apple-cheddar pieI adapted them to sans gluten by using 1c white rice flour, 1/2c cornstarch, 1 c brown rice flour, and 1t xanthan gum in place of the all-purpose flour.  Other than that (and using yellow cheddar instead of white) I followed the directions closely.  I grated frozen butter into the flour mixture and kept tossing things back into the fridge and freezer if I wasn’t using them that exact moment, and the crust turned out golden and flaky and marvelous.  I do think sharp-as-hell white cheddar would be even better.  I have a ridiculous amount of filling left over, so I reckon I may have to try that next go-round.  There will be a next go-round.  And probably several after that.  

My roommate’s apple peeler-corer-slicer was the hero of the day, and I’m currently turning the scraps into jelly.  I made applesauce and then apple butter a few days ago.  Fall, clearly, is for apples.

3 thoughts on “Apple-Cheddar Halfmoon Pies

Leave a Reply

